Tournament format

After a six-year break, Finland will host the World Ringette Championships, when both the Women’s and Youth World Championships will be played in Espoo from 31 October to 6 November 2022. The tournament format for the WRC has now been released.

The women’s World Championship will be decided at Sam Jacks Pool

Finland and Canada are fighting for the women’s World Championship. The WRC gold will be decided on the basis of two final matches in favor of the team that has collected more points from the final matches. The points are distributed as following: the team gets 2 points for winning a match, 1 point for a draw and 0 points for a loss.

No extra time will be played in the first final match, so the match may also end in a draw. If the teams are tied at the end of the second final match, overtime will be played.

The overtime is considered as “own match”, so the overtime starts from 0-0 and the first overtime period (15min) is played until the end. If the match is still tied after the first overtime period, the second period will start, however, it will be played with the sudden death.

The Junior Pool fights for the youth World Championship

The Youth World Championships will be played in the same format as the Women’s World Championships described above. The Finnish and Canadian U21 youth national teams are fighting for the junior World Championship.

The President’s Pool will feature the United States, the Czech Republic and Sweden

Three countries will meet in President’s Pool: the United States, the Czech Republic and Sweden! The teams will play a double round against each other. The teams will collect points from each game by the following: 2 points for a win and 0 points for a loss. Thus, if the winner of the game is not decided in the actual playing time, overtime will be played on the principle of sudden death.

The winner of the first series will advance directly to the final, while the second and third in the series will play the playoffs in which the winner will face the winner of the first series in the final. The winner of the final will be crowned the winner of the President’s Pool.